Midnight’s Kiss

Once upon a time,
I was sane
I was steadfast and true
A little loud, but my thoughts crystal clear
Memories speckled with cheers not tears
That was back when life was lite
Now life is real and filled with fright
My life has made me insane

My insanity differs from expectations
Invisible signs with no flamboyance
My insanity drowns me in its quiet depths
Yet somehow bits of me stay buoyant
Is my glass half empty? Or is it half full?
What I wouldn’t give to be an empty vessel again

Cursed knowledge lashes my thoughts like the whip
Injecting pain into every quip
Quips I do not speak but keep on the tip of my tongue
And held in cheek
Beneath lips permanently zipped
Silence swiftly stifles any sputter of joy beneath my skin
Shadows loom against the walls of my abyss
I am the companion of the night
Meddling with madness and midnight’s kiss

One thought on “Midnight’s Kiss

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.